Sri Lanka (SLC) announces 15-member squad for T20 World Cup

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) on Sunday named a 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup in October.

Team Sri Lanka has revealed their 15-member squad which will be competing in the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021 tournament which is scheduled to begin on October 17 and will end on November 14. Notably, the Marquee event was scheduled to begin in India but now it has been shifted to United Arab Emirates ( UAE) and OMAN due to the COVID-19 scare in the country.

The T20 World Cup 2014 champions Team Sri Lanka was unable to get direct qualification for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021 and they will have to go through a qualifier stage to play the Super12 round against the already qualified teams.Sri Lanka has witnessed have a big downfall in international cricket and they have been involved in several controversies.

Things have not been good for Sri Lanka on the field as well off the field. Recently 3 players of Sri Lanka cricket got banned due to a bio-bubble breach. Also, the cricketers and board were not on the same page and the players were upset with Sri Lanka Cricket.

Notably, Sri Lanka National Cricket Team is placed in the Group A of the qualifier stage alongside Nambia National Cricket Team, the Netherlands National Cricket Team, and Ireland National Cricket Team.

The decision was approved by Sri Lanka’s Minister of Youth and Sports, Namal Rajapaksa.

Dasun Shanaka is set to lead the former champion (2014), with Dhananjaya De Silva set to be his deputy. The side has also named four travelling reserves in Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, and Pulina Tharanga.

However, the squad had no place for star all-rounder Angelo Mathews after he informed SLC of taking a break from cricket. He was also recently dropped from central contracts. Apart from that, another veteran player Dinesh Chandimal has been included in the squad while Kusal Perera too has retained his place.

Dasun Shanaka (c), Dhananjaya De Silva (vc), Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrema, Lahiru Madushanka, Maheesh Theekshana

Reserves: Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Pulina Tharanga

Exit mobile version