Super 12 teams locked for T20 World Cup


The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 goes up a gear on Saturday as the Super 12 stage kicks off with a mouth-watering double-header that sees four Group 1 teams start their campaigns.

The final groups were not settled until the last day of the First Round with Namibia’s win over Ireland earning them the second qualifying spot from Group A, entering Group 2 alongside India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and Group B winners Scotland.


Sri Lanka, who topped Group A, go into Group 1 alongside England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies and Group B qualifiers Bangladesh.

T20 World Cup 2021 Qualified Teams To Super 12 - Updated

From here on in it is a battle of the very best in T20I cricket with only the top two from each group to reach the semi-finals.

Ahead of the opening match of the stage, between Australia and South Africa at Abu Dhabi, here’s everything you need to know about the Super 12 phase…


Group 1

England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh

Group 2

India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Namibia, Scotland


Group 1 commences – 23 October

The Super 12 stage will get underway in Abu Dhabi on 23 October, with the Group 1 contest between Australia and South Africa. This will be followed up with an evening clash between England and West Indies in Dubai.

First Round qualifiers Sri Lanka and Bangladesh then start their Super 12 campaign on 24 October at Sharjah.

Group 2 commences – 24 October

Group 2 will commence with a heavyweight clash between India and Pakistan in Dubai on 24 October at 6pm local time.

Pakistan then take on New Zealand in Sharjah on 26 October, in a tough start for the 2009 champions. Afghanistan begin their campaign on 25 October at Sharjah, taking on First Round Group B winners Scotland.

Group 1 concludes – 6 November

Group 1 will conclude on 6 November with matches between Australia and West Indies in Abu Dhabi, and England and South Africa in Sharjah.

Group 2 concludes – 8 November

The group will conclude on 8 November, with India taking on Namibia.

Semi-finals – 10 November and 11 November

The first semi-final will be held in Abu Dhabi on 10 November at 6pm local time. The second semi-final will be hosted by Dubai on 11 November. Both semi-finals have reserve days.

The Final

The tournament reaches its conclusion on 14 November at Dubai International Stadium.

The points system

As was the case in the First Round, the following points system will apply in the Super 12 stage:

Win – Two points

Tie, no result or abandoned: One point

Loss or forfeit: Zero points.



Leave a Reply